Natural Products · NaturalNanii

Natural Nanii: Toothpaste

I’m on a new mission to create my own natural homemade body products. My goal is to use only organic oils and natural products. I have a list of the many things I want to make, but the first thing I want to start with is toothpaste. We use toothpaste multiple times a day. Toothpaste has become a very common thing in American households. However, the ingredients have steered me away from using corporation made products.

toothpaste-153157_640Before I get into the recipe I used for my toothpaste, I want to get into why I don’t like brand name toothpaste, such as Colgate, Crest, etc. I have come to realize that the chemicals in toothpaste are way harmful for our bodies and mental health. The ingredients in those products not only slowly decay our teeth, but they also hinder our cognitive process. The top 2 products include:

NOTE: I’m not a medical professional. All of this information is found on the internet with multiple research, including blogs by medical professionals and scholarly articles.

  • Sodium fluoride: Sodium fluoride (not to be mistaken by naturally occurring sodium fluoride) is an industrial toxic waste, a bi-product of waste from steel and aluminum industries. It is found in our water and our toothpaste. Like 50 years ago, it was found to be good for preventing tooth decay. However, we society advances we’re beginning to realize the harmful effect that sodium fluoride causes. Because I’m not very good at wording the harms of sodium fluoride, here is a nice Youtube video that sums it up. I will get into more details about sodium fluoride in another post.
  • Triclosan: This chemical is used as an antibacterial element to body products such as toothpaste and deodorant. The FDA says that triclosan is not hazardous to humans, but “several scientific studies have come out since the last time FDA reviewed this ingredient that merit further review.” They didn’t add anymore information which made me curious as to what these studies said and I did some further investigation. Studies have shown that triclosan impairs muscle functions, may alter hormone regulation, oh and it was first registered as a PESTICIDE. We’re putting a pesticide (even if it is a small amount) into our bodies. That scares me…

I personally don’t want to put a toxic industrial product and a pesticide in my body, which I rely on very much, lol. Below is the first recipe I used for my own toothpaste. I found this recipe on Thank Your Body blog, however, I did the research on what these ingredients do so I hope you find that helpful!

NOTE: Please don’t use this recipe if you have fillings, braces, or any other metal in you mouth.

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tbs Coconut Oil: Strengthens gums, whitens teeth, and soothes throat 
  • 4 Tbs Bentonite Clay: Recalcifies teeth and remineralizes teeth
  • 2 – 3 Tbs filtered water
  • 1/2 tsp Real sea salt: Remineralizes teeth
  • 10 – 15 drops peppermint essential oil: Freshens breath and hinders the growth of germs
  • Optional: A few drops of stevia

Directions:

  1. Mix coconut oil, clay, and salt in a small non-metal bowl. Start with just one tablespoon of water.
  2. Working with a non-metal spoon, mix the ingredients together and add more water until you like the consistency. This would be the step to add the stevia if you choose to.
  3. Add in the peppermint oil and then mix until well combined. Store in airtight container.

To use: Place a pea-size amount on your toothbrush and the brush.

20151024_093510I have been using my toothpaste for a few days now and I’m relieved. I know that my teeth are getting the love they need while not using harmful chemicals on them. Peppermint smells like any other toothpaste so I don’t notice that I’m using a homemade toothpaste. The taste, however, is bland but not negative in anyway. If you like, you can add some natural flavoring, however, I haven’t gotten to that because I honestly don’t mind the bland taste.

I encourage everyone to make their own natural products. I believe everyone should know what they are putting into their bodies and not just flow with what huge corporations provide. Their intention is profit, not your health and wellness. Try this recipe and let me know what you think/how it’s working for you.

One thought on “Natural Nanii: Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

