Natural Products

Organic oils that absolutely love your body

I’ve always been all about natural but I never knew that there is a whole world out there full of natural products. I shouldn’t have been surprised since times are changing and people are realizing the effects of artificial products. One thing that I realized is a big aspect of natural products are essential oils. Essential oils are in almost all natural products and are a huge part of aromatherapy because they have so many benefits, both mentally and physically. Some benefits include healing wounds, fighting colds, repelling bugs, heightening senses, enhance meditation, healing emotional scars… and that’s only a preview of what these oils can do! Before I go blabbering on, for those who need a little information…

essential oil being applied to water with plant petalsWhat are essential oils?

Essential oils are oils extracted from plants like rosemary or lavender. There are multiple methods to extracting the oils from plants, such as distillation and cold pressing (more information on extraction processes). They are highly concentrated, so most of the time you only need to use a few drops. It’s always advised to dilute the oils with carrier oils like jojoba oil, Olive oil, coconut oil, etc before you use them on your body.  

Two of the most common ways people use essential oils is externally, internally, and through inhalation. I have been using my essential oils for my body products as well as through a diffuser. I recently got both items as a birthday present and, I have to say, they are one of the best gifts ever. Whenever I’m feeling down or upset, I just put some water and a few drops of lavender oils in the diffuser and within 20 mins I’m usually doing much better.  

What are some benefits of essential oils?

To start, there are A LOT of benefits of essential oils. I’m not going to list them all because different oils have different properties, hence different benefits (not to mention that there are over 300 kinds of essential oils). However, there are some basic properties to most essential oils.

For your body, essential oils are:

  • Antiseptic: Most essential oils have the property to prevent the growth of disease causing microorganisms. This includes, but is not limited to, anti-viral, anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, and anti-microbial
  • Anti-Inflammatory: Some essential oils helps reduce inflammation caused by pain, redness, and swelling.
  • Cytophylactic: This is probably one of my favorite benefit of essential oils. This means that the oils stimulate the regeneration of cells and restoration of tissue functions (yeah, it’s a new word for me too.)
  • Sedative: A few essential oils help with the nervous system to relax the muscles, relieve pain and spasms.

In terms of mental and emotional health, essential oils are good for: meditation-909298_640

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Clearing mind of negative thoughts
  • Improving memory
  • Mental stimulation and concentration
  • Aiding in sleep
  • Promoting emotional healing

Now, this list is only the basics. If I listed all of the essential oils and include their benefits, it would be like reading a book (which wouldn’t be fun considering this is a blog). I encourage everyone to look into essential oils and see what they can be used with. Some people add a few drops to their lotions, liquid soaps, and water. I put a drop or two of peppermint oils and/or lavender oil in the morning, this is one way I weened myself off coffee. I’m also using them to create a few of my body products. I figure out what I want my product to do (i.e. restore, moisturize, heal) and I add the best essential oil for that action.

Go on, do yourself a favor and do a Google search. If you’re interested in living a natural life, this is a great way to start.

Leave a Reply

