Recipes

Natural Homemade Toothpaste: New & Improved Recipe

A couple weeks ago I shared a recipe for natural toothpaste. This recipe included bentonite clay. The thing about bentonite clay is that it’s not effective if it comes in contact with metal. I knew that and that’s why I recommended using a non-metal spoon and bowl. However, I totally forgot that I had fillings in my teeth… that wasn’t good, lol.

I don’t recommend using that recipe if you have any sort of metal in your teeth, whether it’s fillings or braces. I apologize about not putting that warning up there.

New Recipe – Baking Soda

baking-soda-768950_640

To make that up to you, I went looking for another recipe that doesn’t have bentonite clay in it. I found one that replaces the clay with baking soda. I’ve always known that baking soda has many benefits so I wasn’t surprised to see that it can also be used for my teeth.

NOTE: Please don’t use this recipe if you have braces. Braces can react to the baking soda and fall off and/or leave marks on your teeth.

Not only is baking soda really cheap to buy, it also has a lot of health benefits and household uses. It can be used as a deodorant by either mixing baking soda with water or simply brushing baking soda directly under your arm. It can be used as a heartburn and indigestion remedy because it neutralizes stomach acid. In terms of household cleaning, baking soda is great for scrubbing floors, sinks, and tubs. It can be used as a drain cleaner when mixed with vinegar.

This list is very limited so I have included some links below with more information on health benefits of baking soda and household uses.

Baking soda and teeth

In this case, I used baking soda for my teeth. Baking soda is a wonderful tooth whiter. The reason is because it removes stains and discoloration from the enamel (surface of the teeth). Baking soda also has a slight abrasive action to it, which allows it to remove plaque, polish and clean teeth. I don’t recommend using baking soda alone to brush your teeth everyday because this can damage your enamel and we don’t want that.

The Recipe

This recipe is similar to the previous recipe except without the real salt
(since it already tastes salty). The other ingredients I used are still the same. The coconut oil is used to strengthen gums, whiten teeth, and soothe the throat. This recipe is going to be pretty simple, however, you can find varying recipes both at Modern Hippie Houswife and Wellness Mama.

IngredientsIMG_1985

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 3 tablespoons baking soda
  • 12 drops of peppermint essential oil

Directions

  1. Slightly melt coconut oil in a bowl or a pan.
  2. Mix in the baking soda and peppermint oil.
  3. Stir in peppermint EO or any of your favorite EOs.
  4. Continue stirring until it is semi-solid or until you like the texture.

After using my new toothpaste…

In the previous toothpaste recipe, I didn’t use a sweetener because I didn’t feel there was a need for it, however, I highly recommend using a natural sweetener with this recipe. The main reason I say that is because the baking soda has a bitter taste to it and this might detract you from using it and, of course, you wanna use it to replace fluoride toothpaste.

After a while, though, I got used to the taste. I guess it’s similar to when you first try toothpaste and dislike it but eventually you get used to it. I’m going to continue using it because I have noticed that my gums are becoming stronger.  I can also feel it cleaning my teeth and see the gunk when I spit out. I’ve never seen this kind of cleaning with the bentonite clay recipe or regular toothpaste.

Photo on 11-29-15 at 9.18 AM

Other there other recipes that have worked well for you? If do, leave me a comment below so I can give your recipe a try!

Related information:

11 Health Benefits of Baking Soda

Brushing Teeth With Baking Soda

Coconut Oil Toothpaste

Leave a Reply

